Meet the Author: Lily Malone

LilyM_lowresLILY’S TOP WRITING TIP: Try first to get your book traditionally published, either print or digital. Try to get an agent too. Go through all the query and submission process because it helps toughen up your skin, and you are going to need that when you start getting those first reviews, because not everyone will love your book. And there will be people who not only don’t like it, but don’t finish it, and then tell everyone how much they didn’t like it and couldn’t finish it.

Lily juggles part-time work and family with writing, and when not writing, likes gardening, walking, wine, and walking in gardens (sometimes with wine). In March 2013, her debut novel, His Brand of Beautiful, was published with Escape Publishing, and in May 2013, she self-published her novella The Goodbye Ride. She has just finished her third published work, Fairway To Heaven, set in the beautiful beach location of West Australia’s Geographe Bay.

Lily loves to hear from readers and authors. You can find out more about Lily and her books at her blog: http://lilymalone.wordpress.com/ on Goodreads, and on Facebook, and on Twitter: @lily_lilymalone

To contact Lily, email lilymalone@mail.com

AUTHOR INSIGHT

Why do you write? Well… I’d love to get to the day where my writing could fund my early retirement… in a manner far grander than that to which I’m currently accustomed!

What would you be doing if you weren’t a writer? I’ve never thought of myself as a particularly creative person. For some reason once I had kids, creativity started flowing. Initially I went on a baking frenzy. I tried all sorts of cakes, muffins and biscuits without much success. Then I decided I might try my hand at painting. This ended in disaster. Writing was kind of the next fad that came along, but it stuck.

What was your toughest obstacle to becoming published? I think it was for my closest friends and family to take me seriously… which equated to being given the ‘time and space’ to make countless writing mistakes and start again, and start again. It’s very hard to tell someone that you have spent all night on one page of work, which you then delete the very next morning.

What’s the best aspect of your writing life? When someone says they enjoy your book – that’s magic. Also, I have loved some of the friends I’ve found in the writing community – both other authors and also bloggers, and readers.

—the worst? When the words just won’t come out right and the whole thing becomes a huge headache, rather than something that should be enjoyed.

What would you do differently if you were starting out now as a writer? I might have tried to train myself to plot and plan my stories… because this seems to work for other people. For me, plotting, planning and structure is too much like mathematics. It hurts my brain. So I just wing it with a very general idea in my head, and see what happens.

What do you wish you’d been told before you set out to become an author? Not everyone will love your book and tell all their friends to rush out and buy it.

What’s the best advice you were ever given? Never take a knife to a gun fight.

 BOOK BYTE

NewFinalFair#2Fairway To Heaven

It’s Golf, But Not As You Know It!

One woman’s personal struggle to regain her mojo on a Busselton beach.

 

When Jennifer Gates drives to Sea Breeze Golf Club to kick off date-night with her boyfriend, the last thing she expects is to find Golf-Pro Jack giving one of his lady students a private—and very personal—lesson in bunker-play. Lucky for Jenn, her best friend gives her the keys to the Culhane family’s beach shack on the white-pepper shores of Western Australia’s Geographe Bay. Jenn hopes a weekend on the coast with her young son will give her the space she needs to rebuild her confidence after Jack’s betrayal.

But she’s not the only person seeking sanctuary by the sea. Brayden Culhane is there too, and Jenn can’t look at Brayden without remembering the tequila-flavoured kiss they shared on the shack steps years ago. As long-buried feelings are rekindled, and a friendship is renewed, Jenn knows it is more than lazy summer days bringing her mojo back. Romantic sunsets, ice-cold beers and the odd round of golf can only go so far, because this time, trusting Brayden with her heart won’t be enough. Jenn has to learn to trust her body, too.

5 thoughts on “Meet the Author: Lily Malone

    1. It’s a pleasure to have you visit, Lily. I love meeting fellow authors and finding out a little about their writing life. I’m glad you like the layout. I like to keep things simple and reader friendly.

      Like

  1. Never take a knife to a gun fight! I love it! I thoroughly enjoyed reading this author insight. I giggled quite a bit and could relate to much of it. Thanks, Lily and Teena.

    Like

  2. Hi Lily! Hi Teena! *waves*
    I love reading these author meets.
    Such great questions and answers. It’s nice learning a bit more about you, Lily. You sound like me with all the creative pursuits after having kids. I even tried playing the guitar and writing songs – they were so terrible and I cringe when I have the misfortune to remember the lyrics, lol 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

