Meet the Author: Jenny Rogneby

JENNY’S TOP WRITING TIP: Make up your mind, set aside enough time, and finish what you started.

Jenny RognebyJenny Rogneby is a criminologist and investigator. She works with the Stockholm City Police Department investigating everything from thefts to robberies and murders. Her work inspired her to start writing. Visit her website to find out more. www.jennyrogneby.com

AUTHOR INSIGHT

Why do you write? Because I got a book idea that just wouldn’t let go. I was working as a criminal investigator at the Swedish Police Force in Stockholm when the idea about my main character, Leona, came to me. I decided to write it down and I’ve been writing ever since. I never thought about being an author, but now I can’t think of a life without writing.

What would you be doing if you weren’t a writer? I’d probably continue my work as a criminal investigator. A very interesting and important job which I enjoyed a lot.

What was your toughest obstacle to becoming published? Nothing really. I’ve been very fortunate. Ten publishing houses in Sweden were interested in my script, which I heard is quite unique. My book will be released in 11 countries, so I can’t say I’ve had any difficulties being published.

What’s the best aspect of your writing life? Many things. It feels great when I find a way to form a scene the way I imagine it in my head. When I find a way to describe it from a certain angle that works. Also when the story comes together and falls into place in a natural way. Love that.

One of the best things about being a writer is that I’m able to work from anywhere in the world. I get a lot of inspiration just by observing people, seeing new places and different cultures.

—the worst? To write a book is far more time consuming than I thought. I sometimes get frustrated about that since I have more book ideas than time. I try to accept that I can’t hurry the process.

What would you do differently if you were starting out now as a writer? Nothing. My journey so far has been very smooth and my book has been a bigger success than I could imagine.

What do you wish you’d been told before you set out to become an author? I wish someone had told me earlier that I had a talent for writing, then I would have started earlier in life.

What’s the best advice you were ever given? To get a good agent.

BOOK BYTE

Leona smlLeona: The Die is Cast

A naked and bloody seven-year-old girl walks into a bank, clutching a grubby teddy bear. She plays a threatening recording, demanding money. No one dares intervene.

The child leaves the bank and disappears, without leaving a trace of evidence.

This daring robbery is trusted to highly regarded investigator Leona Lindberg of Stockholm’s Violent Crimes Division. But why is Leona ignoring witness statements, and calling in suspects on the barest thread of suspicion? When a second robbery takes place, how does she manage to be the first one at the scene?

Leona: The Die is Cast is a gripping crime thriller featuring an unusual heroine who holds on to reality by the skin of her teeth. In life, as in poker, Leona is unwilling to fold, despite so much being at stake. The book is available from the publisher. www.echopublishing.com.au

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

