Meet the Author: Magic Barclay

Magic’s Top Writing Tip: Formulate your plan. I worked with coloured post-it notes to set my layout. From there I wrote in bite-sized chunks until I was happy with each section. Having a plan led to a concise piece of work, which I am very proud of.

Magic BarclayIt’s my pleasure this week to introduce Magic Barclay, who works with people from all walks of life to help them lose weight naturally by understanding their emotions around food. Magic’s involvement in the weight loss industry began with the realisation she needed to live a long and healthy life to care for her two sons. She became immersed in learning as much as she could about nutrition and wellness, lost more than 74kgs and is now a sought-after speaker and panelist and a recognised leader in the field.

Magic is also a passionate advocate for the disability and carer communities and animal welfare. Visit www.magicbarclay.com to read more of her inspirational personal story.

AUTHOR INSIGHT

Why do you write? I write to inspire and educate others on weight loss. After my own experiences, I felt there was a need for someone to help cut through the ‘white noise’ of information with direct and implementable advice.

What would you be doing if you weren’t a writer? If I wasn’t a writer, I would be a counsellor. I think giving to others and lifting them up is the greatest way to fill your own soulful needs and fulfil your own purpose.

What was your toughest obstacle to becoming published? The toughest obstacle in becoming published was to navigate the technological areas of the process. Working with editors and making sure that your message stays intact is tough too.

What’s the best aspect of your writing life? The best aspect of my writing life is being able to express myself without needing to hold back. Having a platform for unadulterated views was exhilarating for me.

—the worst? The worst aspect of my writing life is that my ideas change from chapter to chapter. Getting over-excited can lead to sloppy work, so making sure that continuity reigns is vital. I’m an ‘all or nothing’ kind of person, so making sure that I didn’t just charge ahead and leave my readers behind was difficult at times.

What would you do differently if you were starting out now as a writer? I wouldn’t do anything different if I was starting out as a writer again. I found the journey one of excitement and each lesson I learnt along the way has served me well.

What do you wish you’d been told before you set out to become an author? I wish I’d been told how to block out distractions before I became an author. It’s easy to be surrounded by people who have views on your work, it’s harder to block them out when you’re on a writing spree. I would set myself a space for writing so that I had a retreat to be in free of distractions

What’s the best advice you were ever given? The best advice I was ever given was to be myself in my writing. Putting on a persona can only lead you to confusion in your writing, that then confuses your reader. Staying true to yourself shows your authenticity in your work.

BOOK BYTE

Stop Being Fat sml

 

 

 

Learn how to shed belly fat and change your habits without fad diets. Achieve permanent weight loss and go from fat to skinny in seven easy steps.

Discover Magic’s breakthrough systems and begin your fat loss journey without fear. Identify your patterns of weight gain and more importantly, find the solution. Uncover your self esteem, confidence, motivation and good health by following the MAGIC system:

M indset
A ctivity
G oals
I ntake
C onfidence

The system is supported with worksheets, tutorials and videos. The book is available from Amazon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

