Meet the Author: Jason Shon Bennett

 

JASON’S TOP WRITING TIP: Believe in yourself and your story.  Surround yourself with experienced people in publishing, editing and design. Open yourself to feedback in regard to layout, flow and detail. Learn from these experts but at the end of the day, follow your gut.

Jason 2Jason Shon Bennett is a health researcher, best-selling author and international speaker.

Sick and on daily medication for more than 25 years, he found a way to rebuild his body and cure himself through changing his diet and lifestyle and has now been free of illness and off all medication for nearly 20 years.

He shares what he has learnt on his personal health journey to teach people all over the world how to eat well, get well and stay well. Jason is on Facebook here.

AUTHOR INSIGHT

Why do you write? So many people approached me and asked, “What did you do to get so healthy and stay healthy given you were so sick for so long?” and “Can you write a book about what you did to get well?”so I really just realised that there was real value for people in the journey I had been through and in sharing my experiences and learning.

What would you be doing if you weren’t a writer? Ha!  I would be speaking on health all over the world (which is the other thing I do!) and probably creating articles, blogging and more so it would inevitably seep out somewhere!

What was your toughest obstacle to becoming published? Not thinking that my story would be relevant or credible in anyone’s eyes. A fear that I had nothing to contribute and that nobody would enjoy the book or get genuine value from it.

What’s the best aspect of your writing life? I get to make a real difference to the lives of other people. I get to share knowledge that saves lives. I get to make an impact and leave the world a better place.

—the worst? The final excruciating editing, deleting, checking process before the book is finally ready to go AND the fact that I have another 14 books prewritten in my head that I do not have the time to get to!

 What would you do differently if you were starting out now as a writer? I would talk more into a microphone (that transcribes it into words) and type less.

What do you wish you’d been told before you set out to become an author? You will need far more time than you think, people around you will not understand the time it takes and you will have to edit out so many things that you do not want to let go of!

What’s the best advice you were ever given? “You have to write, you have really different and important things that people want to know.”

BOOK BYTE

Eat Less Live Long

 

 

 

Jason says: Eat Less, Live Long takes you through the basic journey I went on to get well, and what I learnt along the way from the world’s oldest and healthiest people – including their secrets to youthful vitality and longevity. It explains the concept of eating less, the lessons of the centenarians, and the power of Regular Intelligent Fasting® (the way I fast). I show you how you can incorporate these simple practices into your daily life to make an enormous difference to your health, vitality, energy and weight. It is full of brand new international research, humour, personal experience and easy-to-follow tips on how to live a long healthy life free of drugs and disease. This includes golden ‘tid-bits’ I have meticulously gathered for over 20 years during my quest to get well.

The book is available here.

Leave a Reply

