Meet the Author: Claire Boston

Claire BostonCLAIRE’S TOP WRITING TIP: Find a writers’ group and a critique group that works for you. I have learnt so much from my membership of Romance Writers of Australia – things about the industry and the craft of writing that I wouldn’t have learnt elsewhere, and I have a wonderful network of friends who encourage and support me. My critique group has helped me work out what’s not working in a manuscript and makes suggestions on ways to fix it. In the beginning I knew my manuscript wasn’t publishable but had no idea how to fix it. RWA and my critique group helped me with that.

Claire Boston was a voracious reader as a child, devouring anything by Enid Blyton as well as series such as Nancy Drew, Trixie Belden, The Baby-sitters Club and Sweet Valley High. Then one school holidays when she’d run out of books to read, her mum handed her Hot Ice by Nora Roberts and she instantly fell in love with romance novels.

The love of reading soon turned to a love of writing and Claire struggled to keep within the 1500 word limit set by her teachers for any creative writing assignments. When she finally decided to become serious about her stories, she joined Romance Writers of Australia, found her wonderful critique group and hasn’t looked back.

When Claire’s not reading or writing she can be found in the garden attempting to grow vegetables, or racing around a vintage motocross track. If she can convince anyone to play with her, she also enjoys cards and board games.

Claire lives in Western Australia, just south of Perth, with her husband, who loves even her most annoying quirks, and her two grubby, but adorable Australian bulldogs.

Visit Claire’s website at www.claireboston.com and Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/clairebostonauthor

Follow her on Twitter @clairebauthor

AUTHOR INSIGHT

Why do you write? I write because I have so many ideas going around in my head that I just need to get them out. I fill my days with dreams of characters in different situations and I want to tell their stories to other people.

What would you be doing if you weren’t a writer? Organising things. My day job is a records administrator and librarian and so I have to classify and file information so that people can find them again. This has spilled into my writing life where I have databases for my files, my submissions and my blog posts.

What was your toughest obstacle to becoming published? Getting a publisher to say yes! Seriously though, when I look at my first attempts at writing novels, they weren’t any good. I had to learn the craft of writing before I could write a book that people would want to read. There were also periods where I asked myself why I was still trying to get published and sometimes that was hard to get through.

What’s the best aspect of your writing life? Getting to immerse myself in the world I have created and trying to figure what is going to happen next.

—the worst? The waiting. I’m not a patient person and having to wait months to get a response from an agent or editor is frustrating. I try to forget that I’ve submitted anything and just get on with writing the next novel.

What would you do differently if you were starting out now as a writer? I’d join Romance Writers of Australia sooner and I would set up a more structured writing regime. It’s only been the past couple of years where I’ve made sure I have writing time every single day. I have to get up at 5.30am to get it, but it’s been worth it.

What do you wish you’d been told before you set out to become an author? It’s going to take time and you need to be in it for the long haul. I had these naive fantasies of writing my first book, sending it off and it being a big smash hit. I believe my five-year plan included earning enough that I could give up my day job to write full time.

What’s the best advice you were ever given? Anna Jacobs told me time is the best editor. She said the best thing you can do is let your story sit for a year before you edit it and submit it. She was right. You need the time to give yourself the distance from your manuscript, otherwise you don’t see what really needs to be fixed.

BOOK BYTE

What Goes on Tour by Claire Boston

book cover

What goes on tour, stays on tour or does it? Few people know that socially awkward Adrian Hart is actually rock god Kent Downer, and that’s the way Adrian likes it. His privacy is essential, especially now that he has guardianship of his orphaned, ten-year-old niece, Kate. But when the nanny quits in the middle of his tour Adrian finds himself in a bind. Until Libby Myles walks into his life.

Libby has only ever wanted to become a full-time author and prove to her parents that she can make it on her own. On the surface, the temporary job as the nanny for Kent Downer’s niece looks perfect the pay is fabulous, the hours are short and Kate is a big fan it’s the rock star that’s the issue.

Arrogant and way too attractive for anyone’s good, Kent Downer has enough swagger to power a small city. But when he’s out of costume he’s different shy and uncertain. For Libby it’s a far harder combination to resist. She needs to find a balance between work, writing and ignoring her attraction to the rock star, because if she falls for him, it could mean the end of her dream. But when a horrible scandal is unleashed putting young Kate in danger there’s more heat between Libby and Adrian than just sexual attraction. Libby must figure out if Adrian ever cared for her, or if it was all just part of the show.

Available from http://momentummoonlight.com/books/what-goes-on-tour/

2 thoughts on “Meet the Author: Claire Boston

Leave a Reply

