Meet the Author: Sofia Goodsoul

SOFIA’S TOP TIP FOR ASPIRING AUTHORS:  Put your trust into a pen and paper. You will never know when you are ready to write your ‘Harry Potter,’ unless you write it.

sof1Sofia Goodsoul is an author, kindergarten teacher, publisher and mother. Her poetry writing has grown from a hobby into a great passion. Now she can’t live a day without writing poems, riddles and stories for young children. The children give themes and inspiration for her books. Nian the Lunar Dragon is Sofia’s  second rhyming picture book.  She is now working with Marina Kite on her third rhyming narrative Eazy Peazy Lemon Squeezy. Sofia lives in Melbourne with her family and pets. She loves going to Zumba classes and taking long walks with her husband and Mack the family dog.  All her spare time Sofia dedicates to her writing and publishing career. You can find out more about Sofia and her books by visiting her website http://www.sofiagoodsoul.com.au/ 

She is also on Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/sofiagoodsoul

AUTHOR INSIGHT

Why do you write? Firstly, I treat my writing as a kind of meditation. We all try to relax our minds by applying different techniques. Some people buy colouring books, others listen to music… I write. I found that writing takes the stress away and totally occupies my mind.

Secondly, as a teacher, I see that some social and behavioral issues have to be discussed with children, but can’t find appropriate literature. My first picture book Frog Todd was written about name calling and taunting.

What would you be doing if you weren’t a writer? I have been working as an emergency kindergarten teacher for over a decade. Being an active teacher gives me the opportunity to communicate with children, who provide themes and inspiration for my books.

What was your toughest obstacle to becoming published? Believing that I am worth publishing, I guess.

What’s the best aspect of your writing life? I love visiting schools and kindergartens with my book presentations. I always use lots of props and involve children in story telling. It is the most exciting part of my writing life.

—the worst? I am not good at handling critiques, even if they are constructive.

What would you do differently if you were starting out now as a writer? I would connect to like-minded authors earlier.

What do you wish you’d been told before you set out to become an author? Once you start writing, it will take over you completely. Now I can’t live a day without writing poems, riddles and stories for young children.

What’s the best advice you were ever given? A long time ago, one of my teachers expressed concern about my style of writing and suggested that I needed to be briefer and more concise. All my stories are not longer than 500 words:-)

BOOK BYTE

9780994324214.jpgNIAN, THE LUNAR DRAGON is an entertaining, beautifully illustrated rhyming narrative for young readers about the legend behind the traditional Chinese celebration of the lunar new year. According to the lunar calendar, Chinese New Year commences with the new moon (Latin: luna) at the beginning of spring.

Long ago, Nian the dragon lived in the deep ocean to the east of China. Nian was a strong and ferocious dragon, which no creature could defeat. Once a year, Nian climbed ashore to hunt for cattle and human prey. The people of the nearby villages and towns lived in terror, and each New Year’s Eve they had to leave their homes to save themselves. One day, a monk came to the village. He knew a well-kept secret about how to scare Nian away and free the Chinese people from the danger and their fear.

The book is available from http://www.sofiagoodsoul.com.au/shop

and http://www.wheelersbooks.com.au/books/9780994324221-nian-the-lunar-dragon/

and http://www.amazon.com/Sofia-Goodsoul/e/B01824L8YW

Leave a Reply

